Underage Drivers Must Submit to Breath or Blood Test
When an individual under the age of 18 is arrested for drinking and driving, they will often be sent to juvenile court. If an individual who is 18 years or older is arrested for drinking and driving, they will be sent to adult court and face criminal charges and criminal punishment.
Anyone arrested for an underage DUI runs the risk of losing their driver's license, and the DMV is very harsh when it comes to minors who are caught drinking and driving.
In most cases, an underage individual convicted of drinking and driving will lose their license for one year with no restrictions available and with a hardship permit being nearly impossible to obtain. California Vehicle Code 23136 defines an underage DUI charge.
The parents of an individual who has been arrested for underage drinking and driving should immediately hire an attorney.
The prosecutors in the adult court are not only going to treat an 18-year-old defendant as harshly as an adult. Still, they may even treat them more harshly because they are concerned about underage drinking and irresponsible drivers.
Under California's Zero Tolerance Law, underage motorists who are caught driving with a BAC of .01% or more can be convicted of an infraction. A conviction carries up to $250 in fines and a minimum one-year license suspension.
Underage DUI drivers already account for most of the accidents in Los Angeles County, and when intoxication is added to the mix, it becomes a hazardous problem.
An experienced attorney will provide the best chances of getting the individual out of the criminal justice system as quickly as possible. The implied consent law in California states that driving is a privilege and not a right. To obtain a driver's license in California, an individual must agree to submit a breath or blood sample if the police suspect that they are driving under the influence of alcohol.
If the individual refuses to take the test, the police should inform that person that they could lose their driver's license for one year. If an individual initially declines to take the test but ends up submitting to it, they should not be considered to have refused.
If the individual is over the legal limit, they will be looking at a one-year license suspension. If the police request a breath or blood sample, it is always best to comply because failing to do so will result in a refusal on record, which is more severe than a regular DUI.
In addition, refusing will cause the person to lose their driver's license for one year with no opportunity to obtain a restricted license during that time.
Suppose an individual under the age of 21 is caught driving a vehicle with any measurable amount of alcohol in their system. In that case, the zero-tolerance law provides that the individual will be charged with a DUI as a minor and will be prosecuted or punished accordingly, which could include criminal charges.
If you are the parent of a child who has been arrested for underage drinking and driving, you should hire an attorney immediately to protect your child's record and right to drive.
How Long Will a DUI Conviction, Stay On My Child's Record?
In California, a conviction typically stays on someone's record for life unless they get an expungement under penal code Section 1204. An expungement is more like a dismissal because there is no such thing as a true expungement.
In other words, it would still be on the record after it was deleted, but it would show as a dismissed case. If a person gets a second DUI within ten years of the first DUI, they could be charged with a second-time DUI in Los Angeles County.
Each insurance company has different rules about when they will no longer consider a DUI to charge more money for auto insurance. Many things can happen when someone under the age of 21 is drinking and driving.
The best bet is to hire a seasoned DUI defense attorney who knows the courts in Los Angeles County and knows how to protect a defendant's rights, reputation, and freedom.
16 Years Old Driving Under The Influence Of Marijuana
If a 16-year-old is pulled over for driving under the influence of marijuana, they could face a DUI. Even though smoking marijuana is legal in California, there are specific requirements for it to be legal.
One of which precludes an individual from using marijuana before or while operating a motor vehicle, as doing so could impair their ability to perform the motor vehicle safely. A 20-year-old individual who receives a DUI in LA County will be sent to the adult criminal court and face a full-fledged DUI, including the loss of their license and criminal punishment.
In some of the courts in Los Angeles County, depending on the person's record, age, how they were driving, and a host of other factors, they may be able to make the argument that they were not technically over the legal limit, and they may be able to get a lesser charge of wet reckless.
However, this is very difficult to achieve for an underage defendant. A whole slew of charges can be filed against an underage individual who receives a DUI in Los Angeles.
To understand all of the factors that will play into the determination of the punishment, an individual will need to sit down with a DUI attorney.
When I sit down with underage drivers charged with DUI, we go over all the mitigating factors and circumstances surrounding their case, and then we prepare a game plan for the best possible result.
Underage DUI and Loss of Driver's License
If someone gets a DUI in California, California can prohibit them from driving within the state of California but cannot restrict their ability to move to another state. However, California could alert the other state of the DUI, and the other state could choose to suspend the individual's driving privileges based on the fact that they received a DUI in California.
If an individual is unsure whether their driver's license in more than one state is at risk following a DUI, they should check with the DMV where they plan on driving and ensure that they are allowed to continue operating.
No one wants to find themselves in a position where they unknowingly break the law by driving on a suspended license. Such a charge would result in mandatory jail time in Los Angeles, California.